Course Selection for Freshmen

Course Selection

 

Since the school closure has been extended to May 1st. We are asking all students to complete their course requests online. Please pass the word on to your classmates and friends to check their school email ASAP.

 

About two  weeks ago you received an email informing you all that the online portal was open for you to enter in your courses with the 10th grade course selection sheet attached. If you didn’t enter them yet, that is ok! We are asking everyone to select their courses by April 5th.    Click here to view this helpful video on how to select your courses online!

 

Attached the 10th grade course list for your review. You can also refer to the Galileo Course Catalog HERE to learn more about the various classes offered at Galileo.

 

Some things to remember about choosing classes for Sophomore year:

Everyone needs to take Fit for Life (PE) unless you are enrolled in a pathway elective or JROTC. If you sign up for one of these classes, your counselor  will need to add PE Independent Study class to your schedule.

  • Remember you can only fit 6 classes in your schedule.

  • Indicate alternates for electives and AP/Honors courses just in case you don’t get your first choice.

  • We are now accepting the AP Commitment Form online!  Complete this form after you have registered for classes to indicate your interest in taking AP or Honors.  AP/ Honors  Commitment Form LINKED HERE Complete this form by April 20th.

 Self-Care

Please remember to practice self-care in this difficult time. Take the time to do something you love:  listen to a favorite song, read a new book, or practice yoga (Check out this 15 Minute Yoga for Beginners Class! ). Whatever brings you joy.

 

Communication

 

Students can email your counselors regarding course selection, college/scholarship help, or just to check in.  Counselors will be available via Zoom video chat starting April 6th. Email to schedule an appointment.  Please stay in touch!

 

Counselors                                

Mrs. Johnson:  JohnsonM11@sfusd.edu   ………..….…………………A- Canon & AVID

Ms. Yu: Yum5@sfusd.edu …………………………………………….…..Cao- Gomez Sun

Ms. Schkoll: Schkolla@sfusd.edu …………………………..………….Gong – Li, Isabella

Ms. C. Chan: ChanC@sfusd.edu ………………………….……………Li, Jacky – Noorali

Mr. Barbour: BarbourB@sfusd.edu …………………….……………………Norman – Tse

Ms. Talbot: TalbotN@sfusd.edu ……………………………………..…………..….Tu – Z

Ms. Wong: WongM3@sfusd.edu ………………………………………………….Newcomer

Ms. S. Chan ChanS2@sfusd.edu ……………………………………….College Counselor

 

Stay healthy! We will all get through this together!

Sincerely,

Galileo Counseling Department

Website: Galileo Counseling 
Instagram: @galileocounseling